ATMA (Agricultural Technology Management Agency) Rohtas was established on April 1st 2006 as an autonomous body under the societies Registration Act, 1860 and itís office is in Vikash Bhawan Building, Collectorate Campus, Sasaram (Rohtas) since June 2008.


Agricultural Technology Management Agency (ATMA) would serve as a focal point for integrating Research and Extension(R-E) activities, and for de-centralizing day to day management of the public Agricultural Technology System (ATS). An R-E unit within the project district including KVKs, ZRS or sub-stations, and the key line departments including the Department of Agriculture (DOA), Animal Husbandry (DAH), Horticulture (DOH) and Sericulture (DOS) would become constituent members of the ATMA. Each R-E unit would retain its institutional identity and affiliation but programmes and procedures concerning district wise R-E activities would be determined by Governing Board of the ATMA, to be implemented by its Management Committee.


Under ATMA Rohtas, Block level Farm Information and Advisory Centres (FIACs) have been created which are operated by a Block Technology Team(BTT) of technical advisors and a Farmer Advisory Committee(FAC), a group exclusively of farmers. Commodity oriented Farmer Interest Groups (FIGs) are promoted at block/village level to make the technology generation/dissemination farmer driven and farmer accountable in order to provide needed HRD support in innovative areas of extension delivery.